RULES OF THE ROYAL SOCIETY CLUB (1743).

WITH WHICH IS INCORPORATED THE PHILOSOPHICAL CLUB.

Established in 1743.

Members.

Ordinary Members, who must be Fellows of the Royal Society; 2. The ex-officio Members, viz. the President and the two Secretaries of the Royal Society, the Astronomer Royal, the Foreign Secretary and the Treasurer of the Royal Society; 3. The Honorary Members. Upon any Fellow becoming entitled, from his official position in the Royal Society, to be a Member of this Club, the Treasurers of the Club are instructed to ask him whether it be his intention to take Member.

Officers.

II. The President of the Royal Society onjoining the Club shall be its President. Three Treasurers shall be elected by ballot at each Anniversary. No Treasurer shall hold office continuously for more than three years, the Senior Treasurer shall retire each year, but a retiring Treasurer shall be re-eligible for election after the space of one year. The Treasurers shall order and arrange the time and place of meeting of the Club, and summon Special Meetings when deemed necessary. They shall receive the subscription of Members, and keep the Accounts of the Club; they shall prepare and present shall act as Vice-Chairman. It shall also be the duty of make a minute of all resolutions which may be adopted.

Honorary Members.

X. Any Member of at least twenty-five years' standing, or who has attained the age of eighty years, may, on his request in writing, have his name transferred from the list of Ordinary Members of the Club to that of Honorary Members, and shall not be called upon for any Annual Subscription.