536 SCIE

James F. Kemp, with the request that he transmit it to the recipient. The Thompson medal, which was established for the purpose of recognizing the achievements of long service, has been awarded but twice before, first to Dr. Charles D. Walcott, and second to Emmanuel de Margerie.

## THE FIRST AWARD OF THE JOSEPH LEIDY MEMORIAL MEDAL

At a special meeting of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, held on May 12, the first award of the Joseph Leidy Memorial Medal was made to Dr. Herbert Spencer Jennings, of the Johns Hopkins University.

The Joseph Leidy Memorial Fund was created in 1923 as a trust with the academy, and was so announced at the Joseph Leidy commemorative meeting, held at the Academy of Natural Sciences on December 6, 1923. The fund was created by Dr. Joseph Leidy II, in memory of his uncle Dr. Joseph Leidy, one-time president of the academy. The fund provides for the award every three years of a bronze medal, accompanied by an honorarium, "as a reward for the best publication, exploration, discovery or research in the natural sciences in such particular branches thereof as may be designated."

The award of the Leidy Medal was made to Dr. Jennings on the recommendation of a committee of the academy, "in appreciation of his researches upon the Protozoa and the Rotatoria, and in recognition of his broad knowledge and keen understanding of the significance of biological phenomena."

The presentation of the award was made by Dr. Richard A. F. Penrose, president of the academy.

The medal is a bronze plaque bearing the head of Dr. Joseph Leidy, the distinguished zoologist, anatomist and paleontologist, on the face, and on the reverse the dates of his birth (1823) and death (1891), the name of the academy and that of the recipient and the date of the award.

Dr. Jennings delivered the address on the zoological work of Joseph Leidy at the Leidy commemorative meeting, and there is unusual appropriateness in his selection for the honor of the first award. A successor of Leidy in one of his fields of greatest endeavor, the study of the lower forms of animal life, and a philosophical zoologist with a viewpoint worthy of the man in whose memory the medal was founded, Dr. Jennings' selection has placed the standard for recipients of future award on a very high plane.

## THE AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

Ar the annual meeting of the American Philosophical Society, Philadelphia, the following officers and members were elected:

NCE 535

number of ambulatory patients; cost, about \$200,000; it is the gift of Mr. and Mrs. Max Epstein.

The Medical Building. To be built immediately north of, and adjoining the hospital and dispensary, on the west side of a large court; to cost about \$450,000.

The Surgical Building. To be erected on the east side of the court, north of and adjoining the hospital; to cost about \$400,000.

The Pathology Building. To be built at the north of the court; between and adjoining the surgical and medical buildings; will house laboratories and lecture rooms for the present university department of pathology; to cost about \$650,000.

The Physiology Building. To be erected in the same block, but fronting on 58th street; will house the present university laboratories and lecture rooms for physiology; to cost about \$425,000.

The Building for Physiological Chemistry and Pharmacology. Will adjoin the building for physiology, and be connected with it above the first story; to continue the present university work in physiological chemistry and pharmacology; to cost about \$425,000.

The large area of land set aside includes space adequate for the erection, when funds become available, of buildings to be devoted to special branches of medical research, such as psychiatry and obstetrics. The buildings for surgery and medicine are given a central location with the hospital so that those for the special branches may be constructed in the unoccupied space from time to time and the whole plan be logically developed.

The staff of directors of the different branches of the School of Medicine has been completed by the appointment of Dr. D. B. Phemister, of Rush Medical College, as professor of surgery. Dr. Franklin C. McLean is professor of medicine and Dr. Ralph B. Seem director of the hospital. The department of pathology is headed by Dr. Ludwig Hektoen; the Otho S. A. Sprague Institute by Dr. H. Gideon Wells; the department of physiology by Dr. A. J. Carlson, and the department of physiological chemistry and pharmacology by Dr. F. C. Koch.

## AWARD OF THE THOMPSON GOLD MEDAL OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

The Thompson gold medal awarded by the National Academy of Sciences for distinguished service in the sciences of geology and paleontology has been given this year, by unanimous vote of the academy, to Dr. John M. Clarke, of Albany. The medal was presented at the annual dinner of the academy on April 29, Vice-president Dr. John C. Merriam presiding, who introduced Dr. Charles D. Walcott, chairman of the Thompson committee, by whom the medal was, in the absence of Dr. Clarke, presented to Dr.