In W.O.'s handwriting, on back on Menu card.

April 1st 1919 My first dinner at the Club . The Archbishop of York was to have been in the chair. There were present Sir Henry Newbolt, Kipling, John Buchan, Pember, Bailey, Oman, Kenyon and Fisher. All but Newbobt and Bailey I had known. N. was in the Chair and I sat between him and Fisher, the minister of Education. Very good evening. The room is a special one in which the Club has dined for 20 years. Oil paintingsof the Founders and lithographs of mamy old members on the walls. Rarely more than 10 or twelve members dine so a round table is prepared for that number. Kipling was in very good form and told. many good war stories. Newbolt is the smooth faced type of thin Englishman like Morley and locks more like a keen American professor. He was full of interesting reminiscences ... One is worth noting - when H. H. Hanson - now Bishop of Hereford came up for All Souls - He was a Non-Collegiate and a most audacious proposition at that time. The rule was to sit for all the papers - he let one pass and could not be found. He was easily first but there was the rule! The others came so far below him that some brave spirit suggested that the rule should be ignored which it was and H. was elected.

CUS417/127.152 1/2

Kipling said he would not be surprised if in a few years the monastic life was revived - as men were seeking relief from the burdens of a hard world and turning more and more to spiritual matters...

After dinner voting took place. Edmund Sturdie and Philip Kerr had the majority votes - 31 members voting. There were seven candidates.

The Club. 1919. CUSAI7/127. 152-123

THE CLUB.

1919.

1. Earl of Rosebery, 2. Sir George O. Trevelyan. 3. Lord Rathmore. 4. Sir D. Mackenzie Wallace. (deceased) 5. Sir Edward Poynter. 6. Mr A. J. Balfour. 7. Mr Asquith. 8. Viscount Grey. 9. Archbishop of Canterbuty. 10. Viscount Haldane. 11. Archbishop of York. 12. Lord Hugh Cecil. 13. Lord George Hamilton. 14. Lord Tennyson. 15. Honble. Arthur Elliot. 16. Mr John S. Sargent. 17. Earl Curzon. 18. Lord Ribblesdale. 19. Mr George W. Prothero, (Treasurer). 29. Sir George H. Murray. 21. Honble. John Fortescue. 22. Sir Frederic Kenyon, Treasurer. 23. Lord Carnock. 24. Sir John Simon. 25. Lord Stamfordham. 26. Viscount Bryce. 27. Professor Oman. 28. Bishop of Southwark. 29. Lord Sumner. 30. Mr Rudyard Kipling. 31. Lord Dunedin. 32. Mr M. R. James. 33. Mr H. A. L. Fisher. 34. Sir Henry Newbolt. 35. Mr John Bailey. 36. Mr John Buchan. 27. Marquess of Salisbury.

HONORARY MEMBERS.

Sir Cyprian Bridge. Sir E. Maunde Thompson. Marquess of Lansdowne.